Is your MySpace profile damaging your job prospects?

26 Mar

More and more employees are checking out candidates MySpace and Facebook profiles, to gather background information. I guess this is just one of the drawbacks of living in an open and connected ‘conversation era’ (a term I picked up on i-wisdom)!  It makes you wonder, at what point does this become too intrusive? When they check to see how many friends you have? When they make judgements on your  photos (often drunken)?!

The blog posts I read on this subject at pfj were quite interesting, here’s a few gems:

Fred – that explains why I can’t get a job. 

Andi – who would want to work for someone who would do this?

Paul – I am a cynic and think that certain employers will even considerthe photo’s and what people look like.

Recently we’ve been seeing how brands who connect through social media no longer own their content. Is this the same for consumers too? I wonder if consumers who connect through social media no longer have control over their own profiles, and also open themselves up for scrutiny.

2 Responses to “Is your MySpace profile damaging your job prospects?”

  1. anthony g March 27, 2007 at 1:28 pm #

    I put my myspace on my blog/cv etc – I figure that a good, consistent way of life is to act with the same standards and values to everyone, be they an employer, or someone you meet on a friday night.
    Those with no secrets can’t be caught out!

    I wouldn’t want to work for an employer that didn’t consider me because there was a drunken pic of me on facebook.

  2. Amelia March 27, 2007 at 3:30 pm #

    When I look to recruit Planners I am hoping that they say to me don’t look at my CV, look at my blog.

    Hasn’t happened yet, but it will.

    I am stating to assume that smart, digitally-open people SHOULD be blogging etc and if they’re not then I wonder why not!

Leave a Reply

